top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day -- rogue entry

Bullet With Butterfly Wings, Smashing Pumpkins, 1995


Let's talk about Bullet With Butterfly Wings ... it makes me sad to think someone out there actually thinks the title of this song is "rat in a cage." The title alone is pure poetry -- Bullet With Butterfly Wings -- let that resonate. Every single word in this song is poignant ... deliberate. I can't even tell you how often "but can you fake it for just one more show" pushes me to make it through the day ... faking it for one more show.


Billy Corgan is a brilliant lyricist and a multi-faceted songwriter. When I first heard his voice way back when, I was enamored. He switches up his tone and uses inflections in a way that absolutely fascinates me. It's one of those perfect storms that only comes with being a self-aware songwriter, musician, composer, performer, and storyteller.


One of the greatest opening lyrics ever ... the world is a vampire, my friends. This song is life.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page