top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day -- rogue entry


Story of My Life, Social Distortion, 1990


First up this morning ... love this song.


Hello, "work from home" -- my old frenemy. Whereas I'm less than impressed with my employer's dubious directive for "personnel" on this winter weather advisory day, I am so thankful for a supervisor who values my safety.


Can we just talk about how having a three on/two remote schedule for higher education campus offices would not be a bad thing in this hyper pandemic stage? Being proactive by incorporating a consistent isolation/quarantine cushion into our routines just seems to make sense ... but what do I know?


I wouldn't want to do it exclusively but not having to use roughly 90 minutes of my time to get ready and commute to the office is life-changing. Typically, full-time hourly employees are compensated for a 40-hour work week. I know I use at least an additional 10 hours of my time each week in work-related tasks such as "getting ready" and commuting ... time spent with no compensation. It's kind of ridiculous and a little toxic. Oh my goodness at how far those 10 hours would go toward boosting my mental health.


Speaking of "getting ready," don't even get me started on the added pressure and expense of traditional gender role expectations related to in-person office dynamics ...


Did I say good morning?



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page