top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day (rogue entry)



That Was The Worst Christmas Ever!, Sufjan Stevens, 2006


I'm so happy that it's finally Christmas Eve. FINALLY. I am so ready to have this vicious "holiday" in the rearview. Oh, you didn't know? I hate Christmas.


I love Christmas music. I love Christmas decorations. I love cheesy Christmas movies. I hate everything else about this fraudulent holiday.


I hate that there are those who succumb to the super-hyped consumer pressure and overextend themselves financially. I hate that there are children with unrealistic expectations who will be disappointed Christmas morning and equate that to whether or not someone loves them. 


I hate the perpetuation of inaccuracies in lore and such.


I hate the forced family gatherings and accompanying scheduling nightmare, too.


I hate that people will overeat or overindulge and end up overcome with regret and possible self-loathing.


I hate that the lonely and broken-hearted are subjected to the insensitivity.


I hate that some will endure the added pressure of these weeks in unsafe situations.


I double down on my belief that the holidays are unhealthy. The "Christmas spirit" is something you should exhibit daily, not once a year.


Peace on earth and goodwill toward man ...


Suggestion: Watch/read Dickens' A Christmas Carol.


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page