top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day -- rogue entry



I Won't Back Down, Tom Petty, 1989


*Woke up with this song in my head. Kandy loved Tom Petty. Goodbye, Kandy -- say hello to Tom for me.


It's staggering to think about how many people we encounter over the course of our lives. It warms my heart to think about the very special ones who made a lasting impact on me.


I was a naive, somewhat spoiled newly independent 18-year-old when I met Kandy.


My first job was working in admitting at a local private hospital. I never would have lasted a day, much less a year, if it hadn't been for Kandy. She was just a few years older than me but she was so wise and confident and independent and free-spirited. She was so strong. She was so happy. I had never met anyone like Kandy.


She's the first person I latched on to as a pseudo grownup ... I'm so thankful our paths kept crossing over the years. I'm so thankful social media allowed us to keep in touch.


That smile was everything. So easy. So genuine. The smile of an angel.


Hug the ones you love. Live life fully -- we're not promised tomorrow. No regrets.


https://youtu.be/nvlTJrNJ5lA

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page