top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Trapped in a Box, No Doubt, 1992


This song is on the short list of ones that made me stop and take notice at first listen ... at first note. The classic wtf Initial reaction in the very best way.


It was and still is so different from mainstream music. It's so big and dramatic and a little strange with Gwen's exaggerated singing style. Hello, California ska. Hello, female-fronted band.


Let's see ... how should I describe this song? Beginning of a beautiful relationship? Perhaps the best way to describe it is as THE gateway song to my No Doubt addiction.


Yet another example of the Mtv era broadening my musical horizons. I'm not sure what serves that purpose in my life now. Everything seems so bound by predictive logarithms. It's kind of scary to think how we are all trapped in a box.


https://youtu.be/DccmKKnizFY

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page