top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day



Please Come Home For Christmas, Eagles, 1978


I love this song. I listen to the Eagles' version a lot during the holidays ... Don Henley's voice is everything. That blues piano, yo. I always think I'll get my fill of it but I never do.


Bless her. She's always danced as if no one is watching but this is one of those few songs that forces her to sing as if no one is listening. Yeah. She/her is me and if you've heard me belting this song, I do not apologize to your unwilling ears.


Several years back, one of my very best friends made an incredibly courageous decision to abandon his comfort zone and go west. Do you know the saying, "go west, young man?" Well, my friend was not terribly young when he and his daughter decided to move more than 1,000 miles from his hometown.


Pre-pandemic, he always visited family here in the area at least once a year -- usually around the holidays -- and he always made time to see me. It makes me so sad that I haven't seen him in two years ...


This song is so soulful and it conjures a forlorn sadness that's in me. My friend Scott doesn't know it, but this is our song.


This is for you, Scott. Miss you. You're my hero. Merry Christmas!


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page