top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Updated: Dec 24, 2021


Obsession, Animotion, 1984


Listening to the local "great classics and the best of today" radio station at work brings me so much joy. Most of the time, I keep the volume really low so I'm not fully aware of what song is playing. It's the coolest feeling ever, though, when my ears perk up to the first few bars of a special "blast from the past" song.


Just this week, hearing Animotion's Obsession took me right back to all the feels of being a grounded 13- year-old. I like the song and all, always have, but it's not the best song in the world. Nothing incredibly earth shattering about it at all -- except ... once upon a time, it got me in pretty big trouble.


Circa 1984, I came home from school one day and my mother was waiting for me at the door. While snooping in my room that day, she found a "dirty" poem I had written. Granted, I have never been an angel but that day, I had no idea what she was talking about. Turns out, the "dirty" poem was just where I had written down the lyrics to this song -- Obsession. Yeah. Tape a song from the radio ... Listen. Pause. Write down lyrics

. Rewind. Repeat. Pre-internet, weirdos like me did that sort of thing.


It took days before I caught the song on the radio again and was able to prove to her I was telling the truth. Ahem ... clear my good name. Good times.


https://youtu.be/hIs5StN8J-0



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page