top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Updated: Dec 24, 2021



Are You That Somebody, Aaliyah, 1998


Just to balance my "please make this song disappear" post from Saturday, here's another song from 1998 that I still listen to on repeat. I can't get enough of this song.


I love Aaliyah. Such a tragic story, though. She was only 15 when R. Kelly illegally married her. She was only 22 when she died in a plane crash. I wonder what could have been ...


Truth is, as much as I love 90s music, 1998 was not a great year for music. The decade was winding down and the scene was in a pretty intense identity crisis. There are songs -- like this one -- I really love from that year but by and large, it's a suckfest.


For anyone out there who's on the same wavelength with me about this song, yeah, it still makes me dance. So smooth. Such a cool cat vibe.


Play along -- What's a song you can't get enough of?


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page