top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day



Run the World (Girls), Beyoncé, 2011


Have you ever heard how our tastebuds diminish or change over time? Yeah. I think I'm in the midst of a shift in my essence.


Thinking about traditional gender roles in society makes me so angry. One day this past week, I heard a Boomer white male say he was able to retire two years earlier than planned because he had never used a sick day at work and it banked toward retirement. I wanted to scream.


I don't begrudge anyone anything. That's the world he knows. As a working mother, that is not the world I've known. Things are slowly changing but when I was married, most traditionally female household duties fell solely to me. Not only was I expected to work full time, I was the full-time wife and primary parent to our children. If one of them got sick, I stayed home. I can't imagine banking sick time to use toward retirement ... these days, with more parents sharing such duties, I doubt any parent would be able to do such a thing.


Sit down and shut up, old privileged white guy ... enjoy that retirement.


https://youtu.be/VBmMU_iwe6U

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page