top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Sympathy for the Devil, Rolling Stones, 1968


My Cousin Vinny is one of my all-time favorite movies. You know when Ms. Vito is on the stand and she refuses to answer the question because it's a bullshit question -- impossible to answer? That's kind of how I feel if someone asks what bands I like.


My unspoken response is: Can you be more specific? Do you mean current bands? Do you mean classic bands? 90s bands? Do you really mean bands I just LIKE or do you mean bands I LOVE? Do you literally mean "bands" or do you mean solo artists, too? So many questions ... it's what I do.


I need to work on a canned response. I'm not sure where to even start ... Do I go safe with the response? Prince? Springsteen? R.E.M.? B-52s? Do I opt to show my 90s heart ... Pixies? Hole? No Doubt? STP? Smashing Pumpkins? Do I go with my current obsessions? Olivia Rodrigo? Harry Styles? Snail Mail? I could take the local route ... DBT, Jason Isbell, The Pollies, Carver Commodore? I really love Metallica -- that answer may be too scary, though.


It would be easier to answer the question: What bands do you NOT like? Speaking of ... here's a song I love by a band I don't particularly like.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page