top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day



I'm on Fire, Bruce Springsteen, 1984


As a child of the 80s, my initial introduction to Bruce Springsteen was Born in the U.S.A. Like so many other iconic mega artists, Bruce's success in the 80s is impressive but the work is not indicative of the depth of his discography. Lord forgive me for the borderline sacrilege, but there's just something so inflated and exaggerated about every single song of his from the 80s. I'm not saying that's necessarily a bad thing ... that was just the 80s in general, y'all.


I was well into my 30s before a real Bruce fan came into my life and opened the door to the complete joy that is Bruce Springsteen. It gives me pause to think about the "what if" of how I could have gone my entire life without listening to The River or Born to Run or Darkness on the Edge of Town. I'm so glad that didn't happen. I absolutely can't imagine life without all of Bruce. I by no means consider myself to be his biggest fan but I will say when it comes to my vinyl collection, his records are my most prized possessions.


Here's to old white guys who are actually cool and here's to my favorite 80s Bruce song.


Happy Saturday!


https://youtu.be/lrpXArn3hII

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page