top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Under the Bridge, Red Hot Chili Peppers, 1991


I got married when I was 19. I was a mother at 20.


In hindsight, I was a child who was ill-equipped to handle adult responsibilities much less being a wife and mother. It's a good thing I was too young and dumb to realize the brevity of it all.


In those early years of my young family, my husband and I worked opposite shifts. It was just me and baby Jordan alone at night closing out the day. He was such a good baby.


Back in the early 90s, most nights, WKDF out of Nashville would come in on my radio. As Jordan and I started to wind down and get sleepy, we would literally rock to the KDF rock tunes of the day. I'm not a huge Chili Peppers fan but "Under the Bridge" was in heavy rotation in 1992. I can't sing but I do ... "Under the Bridge" was Jordan's most favorite lullaby. It's a pretty perfect song and it has a special place in my heart.




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page