top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Old Age, Hole, 1993


"What was she for Halloween? The ugliest girl you've ever seen -- someday she will die alone." Ahh. Maybe my all-time favorite lyric, like ever. And that's just the opening verse. This song evokes awe in me as it tells my story. This song is everything to me.


One of my favorite people goaded me this week by responding to the ridiculousness of something I proposed with, "What kind of crazy talk is that -- can you choose one favorite song?" Yeah. Gotta love people who talk to you in your own language. This song, all versions/all inceptions, tops my favorite song(s) list.


So here's an even bolder statement: This song defines me. Period. It just does and it has since the first time I heard it way back in 1993 or so. Yes, during the rise of the internet -- which, I will remind you all, was seriously the wild wild west days of music sharing -- I heard so many WIP versions of this song. They're all me. The Hole version is the most spot on song ever to tell my story. I love that its roots are with two of the most influential artists in my life. Saying Old Age is a special song is a gross understatement. It's a window to my soul. It was a gift, y'all. It is a gift to me.


Old age is pretty fascinating. You realize, there's no denying that the majority of your life is behind you. That simple, yet undeniable, fact adds so much perspective to everything you do.


Chase this one down the rabbit hole.


Happy Saturday!


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page