top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Touch of Grey, Grateful Dead, 1987


It's spooky season. It's boot season. It's the season of the witch and a maybe a cool skeleton rock band, too. So, yeah, how about a little 80s Dead? Right? I don't love this song but I don't hate it, either. It's just so very "meh" compared to the entirety of the Dead catalog. Still iconic, mind you, but meh by comparison. What an odd commercial detour for Jerry Garcia and the guys. The Dead with a radio hit -- WTF? The 80s were a blast, y'all. 


I was 16 in 1987 and the Grateful Dead wasn't even on my radar. I did not grow up listening to the Grateful Dead. No one I knew listed to the Geateful Dead. I became a rabid fan in my 30s all on my own accord and I kind of love that. For a long time, I begrudged the universe a little for using this meh song to introduce me to one of the greatest rock bands of the 20th century. Now, I get it. It was a test. It's like that old adage: If you love someone, set them free ... I chose to come back to the Dead. I found the Dead when I was supposed to/when I needed them the most.


I heard this song on my classic rock workday radio station earlier in the week and I can't shake it -- it's a sign. I've decided to put this song to the test. We'll see whether a touch of grey suits me. Regardless of whether it's just a touch or a heavy hand, I will get by. Yep. I do what I have to do -- always have always will. Vanity be damned. Send in the skeleton band.


Have a very Dead Saturday, friends.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentar


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page