top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today’s Song of the Day

Criminal, Fiona Apple, 1996


I’ve had a stretch of terrible, horrible, no good, very bad days. It’s bound to happen from time to time and thankfully, it really hasn’t happened all that much to me in my lifetime. Thursday was SUPER terrible, horrible, no good, and very bad. You know what, though, Fiona came in like a lion at just the right moment and reinvigorated me.


I honestly do not recall a more perfect 11-minute afternoon commute than the one I had Thursday. I’ve been listening to way too much (Sirius XM) Lithium lately. I love 90s alternative, but the station is so testosterone heavy that sometimes it pushes my buttons. So, back to my story … Thursday was brutal for me – not necessarily work per se but a work dilemma I’ve been quietly pondering.


I’m sitting in the turn lane more than a little lost in my thoughts and that opening riff to Criminal launches … one of my absolute all-time favorite songs. This is me: “I’ve been a bad, bad girl” – singing like I’m somebody, yo.


Then, I was in such a state that I got annoyed at myself for sounding so country. I know. Girl was just not having any of anything Thursday. It’s OK, though, because I leaned into it and sang it all in my exaggerated southern accent and it was fun. Fun, I say. I realized, too, that Criminal would actually make a very good country song. I can see it, can you?


You know what else? The last notes of the song played perfectly as I pulled into my carport. I have never ever had that happen to me. It was divine intervention. Thank you, Fiona.


https://youtu.be/FFOzayDpWoI


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page