top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Easy On Me, Adele, 2021


Can we just talk about Adele's new single? You know, music saves me time and time again. This dropping Thursday was just what I needed. I smiled. I raised hands. Then, I saw the video and it magnifies the storytelling to the stratosphere -- that's art.


Hearing Easy On Me for the first time lifted my spirits ... dare I say it reassured me that, yes, there is still beauty in the world? Yes, that's exactly what I'm saying. Adele is that artist we can depend on to bring it. Even after a five-year absence, she's right back in the game without missing a beat. She's not trying to ride a trend or break the mold, she's just owning being Adele. Unapologetically Adele. So beautifully gifted but she could kick your ass, too. Absolute goddess.


I heard a great clip that referred to Adele as "genreless" and "timeless" -- amen to that. What a joy it is to witness her growth as an artist -- 19, 21, 25, 30. I stopped reading the press, though. Please, don't call it a comeback. Oh, hey ... we'll talk about L.L. another day.

-30-


https://youtu.be/U3ASj1L6_sY

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page