top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Whiskey Bent and Hell Bound, Hank Williams Jr., 1979


I go through spells when odd songs from my childhood give me strength. For the past month or so, I can't get enough of Whiskey Bent and Hell Bound. I love this song. It gets me every single time.


It's not necessarily intentional, but I don't drink much anymore. Maybe twice a year, I get together with my best friends for some back-porch sitting and we drink a little and we talk a little ... I think about drinking almost every day.


I grew up in rural Alabama and I still live less than two miles from my childhood home. I've never been a fan of country music as a genre but some songs transcend ... they're iconic. Hank's traditional country blues and Hank Jr.'s outlaw country both hold a very special place in my heart.


My go-to playlist -- "Today" -- has a little bit of everything and I just keep adding to it. There are a few country songs, like this one, sprinkled into the mix. I like that they all exist as equals on my playlist -- right there amongst every other genre under the sun.


Can you hear me singing along?


https://youtu.be/J-75V4rBPQ0

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page