top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Bulls on Parade, Rage Against the Machine, 1996


The 20th anniversary of 9/11 had me pretty reflective all weekend. Just like you, I remember where I was and what I was doing and how I felt. It's not a good memory ... instead, it's one of those rare truly life-changing moments that is seared into our very being going forward.


Saturday, I ran across a list of songs that were banned from American (Clear Channel) radio stations after 9/11. Did you see this list, too? I had never thought about it before but yeah, our psyches were pretty fragile in those next days ... weeks ... years. Of course, some sensitivity controlling external stimuli was absolutely a good idea in order to keep the masses calm.


I've read through the list several times. It's interesting to say the least. I don't understand why some songs are on the list. ... I can't help but smile when I get to the entry that says "all Rage Against the Machine songs." I giggle a little despite my heavy heart because, really? When did American radio ever even actually play Rage?


I love RATM ... sure, lyrically, the songs are literally revolutionary. For me, though, it's those sick Morello riffs. That heavy beat, too. And, yeah, the music makes you feel something and could possibly incite action. This isn't my favorite Rage song but it's pretty iconic.




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page