top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Freak-A-Zoid, Midnight Star, 1983


This past week, one of our upcoming out-of-town guests for work posed the question, "Is there anything fun to do in Florence?" As I muttered, "doubtful," this song started playing in my head and I envisioned my pre-teen self hanging out at the local skating rink. Z-O-I-D-S. Yeah, don't be surprised that behind my smile, I'm living in my own little world. You all should know by now that I'm completely weird.


To this day, Midnight Star's album, No Parking on the Dance Floor, is everything to me. I listen to it all the time. As I closed out a somewhat difficult week at work and felt the joy of anticipating a fun-filled week to come, I once again reported to the dance floor. Not really ... but spinning some Midnight Star and putting on my old skates always makes me feel young again.


We all like to categorize music and fit it neatly into a box but I'm not entirely sure where Midnight Star fits. It's not really dance music, is it? The songs are too R&Bish ... too epic. Is it club music, maybe? Thoughts?


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page