top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Cry Baby, Janis Joplin, 1971


I've had Texas on my mind quite a bit the past few days. Those heavy thoughts led to a glorious Janis binge. What? The Texas-link progression makes perfect sense to me. Thank goodness for my brain's outstanding ability to find the comfort of music in every situation.


Janis was one of a kind. She was too much for even the big ole state of Texas. She is why I adopted "uninhibited" as my guiding mantra 30+ years ago. That voice. That vibe. Fearless. Unfettered emotion. No games. What you see is what you get. Uninhibited. Preach, Janis. We have one life to live and we are not guaranteed tomorrow.


Turns out, this is a double the love post because I have to mention my other favorite Cry Baby -- the 1990 John Waters movie. Yep. Pure brilliance. It's going to be a Janis and John Waters Saturday and probably a little fall beer, too.


Happy Labor Day weekend!



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page