top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Love Is Blindness, Jack White, 2011


I know there are U2 megafans amongst us and I mean no disrespect, but this cover is better than the original. Granted, I readily admit that I myself am not a huge U2 fan. I don't dislike U2. I like a ton of their songs, but I'm just not really a fan. I'm sure several of you have even heard me boldly state my opinion that U2 is the most over-rated band in the history of the world.


Having said that, this song is my favorite U2 song. I love it. This cover is one of my all-time favorite songs. I love it more. It's as if when the Edge asked Jack White to cover it for that weird egomaniacal tribute album, it was being made just for me. Jack White's version rips me apart ... it is saturated in extreme desperation. His vocals capture the essence and honesty of an emotional breakdown. Better. Than. The. Original.


Goodbye weekend.

Hello Monday. 12 more years.


https://youtu.be/SDqR39vsKlI



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page