top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Planet Claire, B-52s, 1979


I'm feeling especially celebratory today. In my world, that means it's a B-52s day. I feel like dancing and reveling in my weirdness and there is no better soundtrack than the B-52s' catalog. I always start with their debut album that -- you guessed it -- opens with Planet Claire. Ahhh ... the pure joy and bizarro magic that is Planet Claire.


Just like me, the B-52s aren't for everyone. It's my experience that people either love them or they hate them or ... ahem, they are fans of Love Shack. Love me or hate me, that's fine, but I'd rather not be someone's Love Shack. I am more than just the bright, shiny, and quirky radio-friendly track.


I know if I had been a 20 something on the Athens (GA) scene in the late 1970s that these people would have been my people. It's so good to find your people. No matter space or time, your true people are yours forever no matter what.


https://youtu.be/ZFw0Q9zVb8k

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page