top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Seek and Destroy, Metallica, 1982


I begin a new job on campus this morning. This has been my go-to pregame anthem pretty much my entire life. I listened to it so much this past weekend and it's blaring in my brain right now.


Thankfully, I don't really get nervous about much of anything. Truthfully, if I start feeling uneasy about doing something, nine times out of 10, I just won't do it. I've learned so much about myself just in the past 10 to 15 years. Many times in my 20s and my early 30s, I allowed people or situations to make me feel as if I didn't have choices. Sure, choices always have consequences, but when it comes down to it, I don't have to do anything. For me, owning that simple truth ushered in an era of joy in my life.


If you don't know me well, you may be surprised that I'm a huge Metallica fan. I promise, if you open your mind and get past any preconceived notions you may have about metal, Metallica will serve you in a way you can't even imagine. Each song is an epic, masterful, thoughtful, intricate composition.


PS: Not only is Kirk Hammett a genuis, he is my soul mate.


Game on, Monday.


https://youtu.be/UzdDAd9EBOI


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page