top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Bohemian Rhapsody, Queen, 1975


These past few days at work have really been tough. You know what, though? Queen has been there for me every step of the way.


When I accepted a job at my alma mater three years ago, it never crossed my mind that maybe I wouldn't be able to relate to young people. Truth is, I had a skewed perception of myself as the "cool mom" just like Amy Poehler's character in Mean Girls. I took it for granted that being able to relate to my (fairly) recent college-graduate sons meant I would be able to relate to current college students. Wrong. I found out pretty fast that my sons, who are millennials, are vastly different from this rising Gen Z.

Thank goodness for the bonding power of music. I don't remember exactly how it got started but our office playlist has really helped bridge some generational gaps in our office. Not too long after we opened, one of our new student workers asked me if she could add some music to the playlist. She added A Night At the Opera and I knew everything was going to be OK.


Thank you, Tequila Cohen. Thank you, Queen, for being epic, iconic, timeless, and transcendent.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page