top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today’s Song of the Day

Updated: Aug 15, 2021

Nobody Really Cares If You Don’t Go to the Party, Courtney Barnett, 2015


This song sums up how the pandemic has permanently affected my psyche. Granted, it’s the perfect storm – apparently, I have literally gotten old over the course of the past 15 months in addition to being compelled to stay away from people for the … *ahem* greater good of humanity.


Earlier in the week, I was messaging with a friend about several upcoming concerts that I really would like to attend. They’re bands I really like and many of them are bands I’ve never seen live. The concerts actually check all of my proverbial boxes: they’re within driving distance and reasonably priced. So, you may ask, “What’s the problem?” The problem is ehh … it all sounds exhausting … I think I’ll pass – I’d rather just stay home.


I’m a huge Courtney Barnett fan. I saw her at Beale Street Music Festival back in 2016. She’s a lefty, ya know, and she doesn’t use a pick. She’s Australian, too. How cool is that? If you know me at all, I’ve probably recommended that you listen to her 2015 debut album, Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit. Even after six years, the album stays near the top of my stack of frequent spinners.


After all, are you like me? Do you wanna go out but wanna stay home and listen to music all day?


 


https://youtu.be/2ZOGlFdReMM



   


 



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page