top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Rip Her to Shreds, Blondie, 1976


I had an exceptional weekend of acquiring vinyl to fill in some gaps in my collection. My good fortune began Friday when I stopped into the new locally-owned record shop about three miles up the road from my house. Granted, I was looking for Talking Heads vinyl and failed at that missive but came away with something even better -- The Best of Blondie. We have Blondie's studio albums on vinyl and they stay in heavy rotation but this "best of" was notably missing from our stash until Friday.


Ahh. The Best of Blondie is held in high regard in my household. The Best of Blondie is the quintessential playbook from which I schooled my boys on the necessity of Debbie Harry in our everyday lives. Sure, it's the perfect flow of all the singles/megahits but my boys latched on to the lesser-known tracks on the album -- especially, Rip Her to Shreds.


I still beam with pride thinking back to my little fellas laughing and singing along with Rip Her to Shreds ... "Yeah, she looks like she washes with comet." They thought the lyrics were so funny. This song's "reading" attitude prepared my boys for the sometimes ridiculously judgy real world.




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page