top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today’s Song of the Day


Once in a Lifetime, Talking Heads, 1981


I absolutely believe in signs. This week, I haven’t been able to escape this song. It was even more poignant to have this song stalking me as Mtv celebrated 40 years of existence. How amazing is it in retrospect how David Byrne and company grabbed that bull by the horns? Hearing Once in a Lifetime is synonymous with seeing the video in my mind’s eye. I can’t hear it without pretty much mimicking the entire video. I shudder to think that without Mtv, I may have never known the Talking Heads. Or, at the very least, I would have discovered them much later in life.


I finally relinquished and accepted that the universe was trying to tell me something by continually putting this song in my path … there is no such thing as once in a lifetime. Time passes and water naturally flows under rocks just as it does over sand. Thank you, Talking Heads. Yes, there is even water flowing underground. Every minute of every day is once in a lifetime and time will march on regardless of how we handle situations right now. Whether or not we are even here, time flows just like water – same as it ever was.


My God, what have I done?


https://youtu.be/5IsSpAOD6K8

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page