top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Rehab, Amy Winehouse, 2006


A week or so ago, everything in my path seemed to remind me Amy Winehouse has been gone from this world for 10 years. She was one of those few new artists to come along during my lifetime that made me want to shout from the rooftops, "Hey! You have to hear this right now!"


Of the tracks on Winehouse's two studio albums, I don't think there's a bad song in the bunch. Like most Americans, though, the song that introduced me to Amy was Rehab. Her melding of influences defied genres and her throwback style somehow felt fresh and new. The honesty in her lyrics masked by doo-wop era beats was intriguing and albeit, a little disturbing.


Each and every Winehouse creation is tragically savory. There's an effortless beauty in the power of her voice that's shrouded in such a deadpan matter-of-fact tone. I often think of her signature calm, cool, shoulder shimmy when I'm trying to make it through fuckery. BTW, The jury is out on whether she coined the word fuckery. 


https://youtu.be/KUmZp8pR1uc

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page