top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today’s Song of the Day

Crush with Eyeliner, R.E.M., 1994


It’s not very often that I’m at a loss for words. My love for this song and R.E.M. in general, however, comes close to rendering me speechless. I simply cannot adequately put into words the impact R.E.M.’s music continues to have on my life even after almost 40 years.


I have two adult sons and lately, I’ve felt pretty good about patting myself on the back for doing a great job raising them. There is one glaring failure as a parent on my part, though … neither of them likes R.E.M. I messed up. I routinely beat myself up for having tried too hard with them when it came to R.E.M. Sure, youngest son will indulge me and spin the “I respect them” rhetoric but he is not a fan. Forgive me music gods, but it’s entirely possible that oldest son couldn’t answer the question, “Who is Michael Stipe?” I’m so ashamed … but I’ve learned to live with it. Ahh, c’est la vie.


R.E.M.’s catalog is so deep that you will never catch me committing to labeling any of their songs as my favorite. To be clear, Crush with Eyeliner is not my favorite R.E.M. song, but it is MY song. There’s a difference. No, really, there’s a big difference. I literally transform into the most uniquely odd gloriously ethereal creature the minute that first riff hits. Don't believe me? It's true. After all, we all invent ourselves.


https://youtu.be/ycvJHQUqU1M


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page