top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

We Got the Beat, Go-Go's, 1981


I've loved the Go-Go's from day one and I still love them to this day. Although as a young girl, thoughts of feminism and gender equality hadn't entered my brain, yet, I was drawn to this all-female band simply because these women felt like my heroes.


It's funny but in real time, which was during the very visual early Mtv days, I don't remember a whole lot being said about the Go-Go's being an all-female band. I don't remember them being heavily marketed as a novelty act or branded in a particularly feminine or sexually exploitive way.


Rabidly consuming any little tidbit about any Go-Go has just been part of who I am since the 1980s. God bless the Internet ... finding out the truth about how the Go-Go's were completely punk rock club kids was enlightening. Yes. It all finally made sense to me. Yeah. Girls aren't pristine, fragile creatures. Girls can run with the boys. Girls can look pretty and be sweaty and headbang. The Go-Go's taught me all that when I was 10 years old and I didn't even realize it until I was an adult.


https://youtu.be/f55KlPe81Yw


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page