top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Pleasure Principle, Janet Jackson, 1987


It's funny how our brains decide what is worth storing as forever memories. Janet Jackson's Control came out in 1986 and by the time I turned 16 in June of 1987, it was still producing hit singles. After getting my driver's license, Control was the first album I listened to as a solo driver in my first car. Control was also the first album I bought simultaneously on both vinyl and cassette.


Like more than 120,000 other Americans, I was driving a Camaro coupe in 1987. Yep. It was red, too. Could I have been more plebeian? The only thing that made my red Camaro unique -- other than me being the driver -- is that it had a manual transmission. From that very first car all the way to present day, I've always driven a manual transmission. The thing about driving a stick shift is, no one asks if they can borrow or drive your car. Not necessarily a bad thing and it's kind of empowering knowing how to do something a good chunk of the population doesn't know how to do.


And, I circle back to Janet ... Control was billed as her coming out of sorts as an independent woman and artist. The album was a source of strength for me, too ... heavy rotation in the Camaro as driving gave me a new sense of independence. Sure, I love Nasty and What Have You Done for Me Lately -- every song on Control is so good -- but Pleasure Principle is special to me. By 1987, the visual (Mtv) presence of a song was pretty much equal in importance to the actual audio of a song. When the Pleasure Principle video came out, I was obsessed. It was Janet without the over-the-top 80s glitz and glam. It's a vulnerable presentation of her and subconsciously, I learned from the video that it's OK to not be "on" 24-7. I still love this video so much and can even (mostly) still dance along. To this day, I struggle with letting my guard down and not being bound by a constant "on" persona. Oh, the glorious by-products of growing up in the superficially judgemental 80s.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page