top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today’s Song of the Day


Rocket Queen, Guns N’ Roses, 1987


I don’t have the best memory – I’m not an extremely sentimental person. Years ago, someone told me the reason I don’t have a multitude of vivid, long-lasting memories is because I’m superficial and self-absorbed. Ehh. I’m good with that assessment. I get points for remembering that being said to me, right? Having said that, I believe the vivid memories I do have must have stuck with me for a very profound reason.


I remember the first time I heard Appetite for Destruction … the year was 1987. I was in Geometry class and one of my classmates, Will, came in with his headphones and Walkman. It was the first time in my life I encountered someone who was beside themself with excitement over a band. He made us all take turns listening to this new band. I’ve had more than 30 years to reflect on this experience and I double down on it being one that changed my life.


I’ve always been more than a passive music lover. I was born with the music fan gene. Hearing Appetite for Destruction for the first time, though, shook me to my core. I can’t describe why listening to this album still totally engulfs me just as it did on that fall day in 1987. It just does … and it never gets old. I turn to Appetite for Destruction to cleanse my palate when I find myself with a less than desirable taste for life.


I love this album from start to finish. I could have chosen any of the tracks as my SOTD … Rocket Queen won because it has been hitting me hard of late. Sure, it’s raw and in your face, but the lyrics are actually very encouraging and inspirational. If you haven’t ever paid attention, give it a listen with fresh ears and take it to heart.


Sidenote: It's So Easy is GNR the song that rings in my head most often in my everyday life. So, so, so, often. Nightrain is probably my most consistently favorite GNR song.


https://youtu.be/VQHZzJ0byD0

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page