top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today’s Song of the Day


No More Drama, Mary J. Blige, 2001


I’ve turned to this song several times lately in an effort to ground myself. No matter how open-minded I try to be or how I try to be the girl who goes with the flow, more times than not, I fail miserably.


I’m a huge Mary J. Blige fan. This song in particular is an absolute masterpiece. The irony of its dramatic composition juxtaposed with its anti-drama theme and lyrical content just floors me. I’m also very drawn to songs such as this that are written as stories. I also love a song that starts and ends in the same way, like this one does, because it resonates as a complete experience for me. The structure of this song is so satisfying as well because it has a very distinct introduction, climax, and conclusion. Pure satisfaction, I say.


Then, Lord help me, the power of these lyrics is just stunning to me. The song is a literal walk through the catharsis of letting go of the drama and taking back personal power. When she says, “I choose to win,” that’s the denouement. Seriously, if you’re struggling with something in your life that seems out of your control, listen to this song on a loop.


https://youtu.be/em328ua_Lo8

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page