top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Tell Me Something Good, Rufus (and Chaka Khan), 1974


This is it, y'all. This is the song I'm using to set the vibe for this workweek. From here on out, I'm living inside the groove. That's all there is to it ... there will be no straying from the good ... I am only hearing the good forever more.


Having grown up in the 70s and 80s, I have a love of vinyl ingrained in who I am. When I got divorced about 12 or 13 years ago, my vinyl collection from my youth was a driving force on my road to independence. The first few years were extremely difficult but my records kept me company. They helped me "find myself" and reestablish my identity as an individual.


Financially speaking, I had underestimated the change in lifestyle that came along with becoming a single income household. Disposable income became a thing of the past ... it was then that I discovered the joy of thrifting for vinyl. Finding three Rufus albums for $1 each was one of my first triumphs.


I pulled out my Rufus albums this past weekend as I sought inner peace ... good stuff.


https://youtu.be/cm_cFzVAoo8

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page