top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today’s Song of the Day


Stupid Girl, Garbage, 1995


I am a recovering stupid girl.


I’m very fortunate in that I realized early on in life that above all else, I had to be true to myself. For better or worse, I was 17 when I adopted “uninhibited” as my one-word motto. It is an ongoing choice I make.


My early teenage years were spent in a very unhealthy relationship. Although I look back and regret those seemingly wasted four years, I’m also thankful for that struggle because the experience defined my life’s uninhibited path.


On the surface, Stupid Girl comes off as a very stereotypically catty song. If you really listen, though, this is about self-reflection -- it's a mirror song, friends. Although there's a very accusatory tone in the verses, it shifts to a sympathetic/empathetic empowering vibe in the chorus.


You have to truly believe in something! What's that you say? You don't see yourself in this song? Hmm. Maybe it's just me.


https://youtu.be/2GhPUAVgHZc

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page