top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Deja Vu, Olivia Rodrigo, 2021


I. Love. Olivia. Rodrigo. Go ahead and judge me if you must but listen to her new album, Sour, first. Every single track is so good.


It may be hard to believe because I'm the resident (old person) new music advocate but I'm actually a pretty hard sale when it comes to new artists. Sure, I'll give a new release a once through but if an album doesn't make a strong first impression, I won't come back for more. Truth is, with current pop, a song has to be something special for me to look up the artist and seek out their body of work.


Olivia's first single, Drivers License, was everywhere back around the beginning of this year. You know, it was the quintessential overnight sensation. It's a good song, I like it ... there was a hilarious SNL skit about it, too. So funny. I just am not a bandwagon person; if anything, it turns me off when a song blows up like that.


Olivia's next single, Deja Vu, came out a few months later and hooked me. Here, we have a teenager making a sincere Billy Joel reference, absolutely fascinating. It's an homage to her mother's influence on her listening habits. Now that's legit hope for the future.


Listen to this.


https://youtu.be/cii6ruuycQA


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page