top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Sir Duke, Stevie Wonder, 1977


Here I go wishing my life away again but holy wow, I will be so glad to put this month in the rearview. June has been brutal to me and all I can say is thank goodness for music. Yes, I occasionally dip my toes into the melodramatic waters, but I know the power of Sir Duke has helped me handle this month better than I would have if it didn’t exist.


This song has forever been my adrenaline anthem. I’ve never claimed to be normal, and I’ll admit that my common practice is to loop this song upwards of 20 times. When I need it, my friends, I need it in a big way. Once is never enough. It never fails to lift me up and deliver me into positivity.


Not only is Sir Duke an ode to the power of music, but the song also does the notion justice by actually being powerful music from start to finish. For me, it’s one of those few songs that elicits an immediate, undeniable reaction regardless of time or place. The first note prompts me to take my place front and center in the “air” brass section and pure joy consumes my heart and soul for the next three minutes and 54 seconds.


If hard pressed, I would very likely proclaim that Sir Duke is my all-time favorite song. Stevie Wonder is a national treasure, y'all.


https://youtu.be/hmKshpLXnxE


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page