top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Outfit, Drive-By Truckers, 2003


Live at the Shoals Theatre (Jason Isbell, Patterson Hood, Mike Cooley) came out a few weeks back and I just can't get enough of it. I remember the night it was recorded -- the night of the benefit show for my friend, Terry Pace, who had recently suffered from two shockingly untimely strokes. One guess where I was the night of June 15, 2014 ... yes, that's right, friends, I was at the newspaper designing pages as per usual back then. A few blocks from where I sat, magic was happening without me as a witness.


This show being performed in these guys' hometown venue makes this album, and this live version of Outfit in particular, even more potent than usual. Not only that but this was the first time these Truckers had performed on stage together in about seven years. Even without these extenuating circumstances, judging by lyrics alone, I think Outfit could possibly be the most perfect Father's Day song ever.


This acoustic version from 2014 is so special -- not only does Isbell dedicate it to his father, who's at the show, but Hood's father, David Hood of Swampers fame, is mentioned, too, and was likely there.


Lyrics of life lessons ... don't call what you're wearing an outfit.


https://youtu.be/KCd14ngsw2g




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page