top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today’s Song of the Day

Updated: Jun 21, 2021

Centerfold, J. Geils Band, 1982


First, let me just say how amazing it feels to be back out and about in the world. This past week, I saw an elementary school classmate that I hadn’t seen for at least 35 years. It was a completely gratifying moment. Our eyes locked and it took us both about a half second to make the connection before we launched into a quick catch-up conversation.


The best part was, an older woman was standing near us and said, “I apologize for interrupting, but did I hear that right? You went to school together?” We said, “Yes,” and she continued to tell us how she was a transplant to Florence and thought it would be so nice to see familiar faces from the past around town. She asked, “Does it happen often? Do you see people you know all the time?” We both laughed and said, “Yes, ALL the time.”


As I got into my car and headed back to the office, I couldn’t stop thinking about elementary school and oddly enough, the J. Geils Band. The early to mid-eighties were good to Peter Wolf and company. Love Stinks, Freeze Frame, and of course, Centerfold. Ah, Centerfold … a catchy pop song conjuring pubescent hormonal visions of a homeroom angel who graduated to the pages of a girly magazine. As preteens, we were all singing along to the PG-13 naughtiness and letting it school us a bit of days to come.


I haven’t kept a running tally but I’m pretty sure I’ve seen someone I know every single time I’ve ventured out over the past month or so. Emerging from my year-long bubble life has truly made me appreciate the little joys of daily life I had been taking for granted. Thankfully, my memories have not been sold.


Live out loud and turn it up!


https://youtu.be/BqDjMZKf-wg


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page