top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


You Don't Own Me Anymore, Secret Sisters, 2017


This song has been my earworm since Saturday. Just like characters in a novel, we all have a fatal flaw. I think being too independent is probably my fatal flaw. You Don't Own Me Anymore being my earworm has to be some sort of ironic subconscious torture. Lord knows, lately, I've been thinking a lot about how my staunch independence will likely translate into me dying alone.


The Secret Sisters -- Laura and Lydia Rogers -- are from around the way. They're part of what I like to refer to as the Greenhill Gold Club. I love that this song is not (necessarily) about a personal relationship; it's more about the sisters finding independence in their career. Its about them maturing and finding the strength to make their own decisions and control their destiny.


I love that after being dropped by their label, Brandi Carlile found the Rogers sisters and inspired them to keep creating despite having been beaten down. I wonder if familial harmonies are so celestial because blood ties heighten shared experiences such as this.


Here's to symbiotic relationships.


*I'll include a supplemental post with the story I did on the Secret Sisters back in 2017 when this album came out.


https://youtu.be/mLS8LDzoi5A




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page