top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Better Be Good to Me, Tina Turner, 1984


Yeah, it's true, I've been wallowing a bit over being half a century old. Yesterday, though, I got a good dose of "it ain't over til it's over" vibes by watching the Tina Turner documentary on HBOMax. What an amazing woman! What an inspiring story.


And sure, I'll step into the light and draw one outrageous comparison between her life and my own -- she started over in her 40s, too. Of course, her second act of sorts catapulted her to iconic status whereas mine is on track to (hopefully) simply allow me a bit of contentment as the sun sets on my life.


Tina Turner is why I dance like no one is watching. I can't even pinpoint the first time I saw footage of her performing Proud Mary but it stuck with me for sure. There's nothing like giving in to the power of music.


As a child of the 80s, there was no escaping Tina Turner as she was hellbent on a mission to prove her personal worth. This song, Better Be Good to Me, lives in my heart. I know she didn't write it but I can't imagine anyone else doing the lyrics justice the way she does. She was and still is an absolute force to be reckoned with.


Also, she has to be in the running for the greatest front man ever, right? Watch the documentary ...







9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page