top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Don't Worry Baby, Beach Boys, 1964


I love it when the universe teases me with a song. At best, I'm a casual Beach Boys fan. Yes, I enjoy the Beach Boys a lot. Yes, I have complete respect for the music and admit to harboring an odd fascination and adoration for Brian Wilson. But no, I'm not a full-on fan. This song, though, is my favorite. So many Beach Boys songs emanate a soothing quality but this one wraps me up in comfort.


Hearing this song several times here lately feels like a test. The song showing up along my path in my daily walk is like the universe seeing if I'm paying attention. Hearing a song that's been on my mind unprompted out in the world is always so cool. Hearing that same song -- in this case, a blast from the past -- out in the wild on multiple occasions over the course of a few months is cool times infinity and most definitely can't be ignored.


It's like the zealous little guy with his, "Mom, mom, mom, mom," repeated mantra demanding attention. I assure you, I am absolutely paying attention but what does it mean, music gods? Is Timmy down the well? Wait -- are you literally telling me to don't worry baby? Hmm. Could be. I hear you, universe, but worry is what I do so I'm likely a lost cause. This feels like a trap. I'm worrying, baby.


Happy Monday!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page