top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Cape II, The Burning Peppermints, 2019


Sure, I've been in love. Yeah, I've been in love at least a time or two or twenty. To all the loves I've loved before ... no, stop -- that's a story for another day. This story, my friends, is dedicated to the deep fiery love I have for the psychedelic garage surf punk of, you guessed it: The Burning Peppermints.


I first met the Burning Peppermints in a total WTF experience in early 2016. Boy, I fell hard. So very hard. I remember it like it was yesterday. There's just something about a dirty three piece, y'all. It was unapologetically loud and beautifully chaotic and weird, just like psychedelic garage surf punk should be. Duh. I was all in from the second these beautiful creatures awkwardly took the stage in their matching get ups oozing nervous defiant energy in all their outcast glory.


Do you remember how it feels to fall truly madly deeply in love with a band? When it's right, you just know. During our second makeout sesh, I'll never forget how it felt when Jake Wittig opened the Burning Peppermints' set by screaming to the lethargic and somewhat obstinate Alabama Sloss afternoon crowd to "go f*cking crazy!" Be still my heart. Life changed forever.


It doesn't matter if they're mega or just working the local scene, band love doesn't discriminate. Just like with past loves, band love is undeniable and it's once and forever. It's super butterfly-y to see them out in the wild, too. I was in a fabulous tiny local record shop in Huntsville this past weekend and got an unexpected Burning Peppermints kiss. Glittervomit came home with me and it was completely kismet. Thank you, universe.


You know, I've been lucky enough to see the Burning Peppermints several times over the years and I even interviewed them once upon a time -- oh my goodness at those stories. Maybe I'll tell you those another day, or not.


Happy Saturday!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page