top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Dead of Night, Orville Peck, 2019


For some reason, even though I've had the new Orville Peck album in my daily mix since it dropped a few weeks ago, this older Peck tune is the one I can't seem to get out of my head. You know? This is the one that has that line about watching the boys walk on by. The first time I heard this song, I thought the line was, "watching the bullies walk on by." I know now that the lyric is "boys," but I still sing it as "bullies." Bye bye bullies.


The new Orville Peck album is so good, y'all. Oh my, seriously. If you haven't listened to Stampede, do it right now. It's a duets album. You heard me right -- DUETS. These collabs will blow you away. The Peck/Beck collab is so fun. Geez. Sometimes I feel as if I'm trapped in Death Valley High. I bet my life on snake eyes. Yeah. Sure. That's me.


I just adore this artist. Hmm. Sure, his talent is stellar but he just radiates an easy joy that's enviable. Imagine being so completely free just to be yourself in every single way. Imagine the joy of existing above all the petty nonsense that blindsides us sometimes. Orville's music is for all the unicorns.


BTW, I'm thinking I may start wearing a Lone Ranger mask.


Happy Saturday!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page