top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

19-2000, Gorillaz, 2001


Hello, sweet funky sass -- fill me up, please. Yeah, it's an imperfect declaration but as of right now, 19-2000 is my favorite Gorillaz song. This song with its funky fresh Tina Weymoth goodness has been lifting me up for months now. It never fails -- get the cool shoeshine, y'all.


In another life, I was the fifth Gorillaz. No doubt. Yes. Absolutely. I am 100% certain M.E. Kool Thing is gripping the rollbar of the Gorillaz dune buggy in an alternate universe. Oh yeah. M.E. Kool Thing is living her funkiest most free life side by side with her soulmate pals 2-D, Noodle, Murdoc Niccals, and Russel Hobbs.


My life is so totally a stylized commentary. I am amazed by the rich, vibrant depth of this life I'm living. I am so grateful for music. I am so grateful for my backstory.


Gorillaz won't be denied y'all. What is it about Gorillaz tunes that makes them all so dang addictive?


Happy Monday!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page