top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Love Will Tear Us Apart, Joy Division, 1980


You know, there are worse things in life than waking to a Joy Division song filling my headspace. Yep. There are things that are much much MUCH worse. Case in point: Returning to the office after an adventurous week out in the world isn't ranking too high on my "have to" list for the day.


Sometimes, it's a mystery to me as to why certain songs end up looping in my brain. Other times, I can recount my recent days and determine what brief encounter or experience prompted a song to stalk my subconcious. Holy moly, y'all, Joy Division has been in my orbit all week. One of my high school classmates -- one who owns his cool in a way that sparks envy -- posted a pic wearing a "Love Will Tear Us Apart" cap. I think? Yeah. That made me think about my fave pic of Dylan Rieder wearing a Joy Division T. Uh-huh. There you have it -- the why behind my Monday morning internal soundtrack.


Love Will Tear Us Apart is actually the perfect theme song for this day and for this second act career that has hold of me. These lyrics are so beautifully apropos. Joy Division is so beautifully apropos. Forever.


When routine bites hard and ambitions are low

And resentment rides high, but emotions won't grow

And we're changing our ways, taking different roads


Then love, love will tear us apart again

Love, love will tear us apart again


Happy Monday!


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page