top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day


Afternoon Delight, Starland Vocal Band, 1976


When I hear this song, I'm six years old again listening to the radio and standing on a porch swing with my neighborhood friends trying to swing high enough to touch the ceiling.


With the exception of two very short stints, one when I was a young child and another when I was in my 30s, I've lived in Lauderdale County, Alabama, my whole life. Afternoon Delight transports me back in time to when my family lived in Scottsboro, Alabama. It was the one time in my Pops' 30-year tenure working for TVA that we had to move for his job and as childhood memories go, the ones from those years are pretty special.


I know it was more than 40 years ago but it's mind boggling to me how times were so different back then. I was six years old and I walked to school with the other neighborhood children. It was only four blocks but the oldest child in the group was only 10. We walked along as a group and I remember us always singing this song.


These are my earliest memories and it's just true, Afternoon Delight was my first favorite song. It's also true that I still include it on all my playlists. As I got older and understood the lyrics, it became even cooler to me. It's a fix-all song -- it's impossible to listen to this song and be in a bad mood. The song captures the complete vibe of the stereotypical 1970s. It's an infectious upbeat song with beautiful harmonies singing about a little playful quick sex. I love that it was immortalized forever by Will Ferrell in Anchorman, too. What's not to love about this song?


https://youtu.be/wu1UXCdyNo0


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

תגובות


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page