top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Won't Fall in Love Today, Suicidal Tendencies, 1983


I'm easing into this morning after a restless night here ringside of what I'm sure must be the literal highway to hell. At least the unwelcome noise of the outside world is being offset by the glorious noise in my head of my favorite anti-love song. Thank you, Suicidal Tendencies, for coaxing me gently like a chainsaw out of my bed this morning to take on the day.


God I love this song. Forty years in and listening to Suicidal Tendencies still fills me with the youthful energy of an invincible pre-teen. Can you see me smiling and thinking of one of my lifelong loves, Tony Hawk?


Y'all. I remember that awestruck fascination I felt while watching the Bones Brigade for hours on end on homemade VHS tapes. Now, here we are in the second cycle of sk8ting as an Olympic sport. Yep. I'm a huge Nyjah Huston fan but it's still super weird to think about skaters as Olympians -- it feels a little wrong. So excited for the new footage to circulate, though. God bless the internet versus passing around bootleg VHS tapes.


BTW. Get this straight -- Suicidal Tendencies is thrash. Period. Thrash. Not metal or punk not thrash metal or speed metal or skater punk -- it is thrash. Thrash stands alone. If you know thrash, you get what I'm saying. Fight me on it.


Happy Monday!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page