top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

Plowed, Sponge, 1994


This song rattles me in an oh so very 90s sort of way. Is there a more perfect pairing than the opening guitar riff and kickoff lyric in Plowed? The guitar is just so frenetically beautiful and the accompanying lyric is a profoundly poetic contrast. "Will I wake up? Some dream I made up." I say, yes. It's most definitely past time to wake up from this dream I made up.


Plowed has been my faithful earworm companion this week. Yes, I feel my fairytale dream slipping away but thankfully, singing along to Plowed is therapeutic for me. Always has been. This line, "say a prayer for me," forever gets caught in my throat, though. This one hits me, too: I'm plowed into the sound. Yes, indeed. I am so very buried by sound.


I am plowed, buried, and utterly shook by a recent [unexpected] moment of clarity. This song is all about dealing with those scary intuitive "knowing" feelings that are bound to come in a world of human wreckage. Harbingers. Time to face reality.


PS: Damn the man! Save the empire!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page