top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMonica Emerson Collier

Today's Song of the Day

The Sound of Leaving, Veruca Salt, 2015


I have a complicated relationship with this song. I am truly, madly, deeply in love with it but sometimes, it destroys me. Such is life. I've loved The Sound of Leaving on its rocking merits alone for years but here lately, y'all, I'm hearing it as the healing person I am right now and it's not an easy listen. Truth. Cathartic beauty.


The Sound of Leaving is the epitome of an auditory sweet spot for me. It has that magical something that fully connects with me in a forever sort of way. It hits so close to home, though. Some days, it hits way too close -- today is one of those days. Oh no. Oh wow.


Learning to do this daily walk with my eyes wide open is a process, y'all. I'm finding it so difficult to experience life just for me -- free from the weight of wearing all the perfectionist/performance hats. There's some reconciling, too. "Someday, somehow -- You'll remember when you lost it -- The day you lost it." Yep. Preach, Louise.


Ahh -- Louise Post, my contemporary soul sister, thank you for growing with me and telling honest stories from all the seasons of (our) lives. This song is a lot and it's my story. How do you do it, Louise? How do you write songs that are both universally familiar and almost uncomfortably (diary-level) personal?


The Sound of Leaving is forever lurking in my psyche, never too far removed from being front and center. "Hold on to me," is my subconcious plea -- my ghost note -- sent into the eternal abyss.


Happy Monday!


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page